Academics elected to The Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship

Three King’s College London academics have been elected to The Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship.

AMS fellowhsip

Prof Edward Byrne, Prof Gideon Lack and Prof Anne Marie Rafferty CBE were recognised as being part of the UK’s leading figures within biomedical and health sciences.

The new Fellows have been selected for their outstanding contributions to advancing medical science, cutting edge research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society. Many of the new Fellows have also made a contribution to medical science through outstanding leadership, public engagement and supporting the career advancement of junior trainees.

This year's elected Fellows have expertise spanning global health, virology, women’s health, medical statistics, health policy, cancer genetics, allergy and emergency care medicine, among many other fields.

Prof Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, Executive Director of King’s Health Partners and President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said:

The Academy’s Fellowship is a unique assembly of the finest minds in biomedical and health research, from across the UK and beyond. Our Fellows are at the centre of all that we do, from supporting early career researchers via our hugely popular mentorship programme to incorporating public and patient views into health research. Their collective wisdom is a national asset to guide research and policy aimed at tackling pressing health challenges.
It brings me great pleasure to congratulate the new Fellows, each of whom has pushed the boundaries of their individual research field. I am always delighted to see the Fellowship expand, adding fresh talent to our invaluable pool of high quality guidance, advice and expertise.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 26 June 2019.

Read the full list of Fellows on The Academy of Medical Sciences website.